Ankara University Faculty of Fine Arts was established in 04.12.1996 with the legislation of 2809\30 by the Council of Ministers. The Department of Cultural Heritage Conservation and Restoration and Museology Department were established in 01.07.2015. Department of Basic Education was  founded in 13.04.2016 within the body of the Faculty. Prof. Dr. Ayşe Çakır İlhan was assigned af teh dean of the Faculy in 24.12.2015 and Prof. Dr. Ömer Adıgüzel handed of the task as dean of the Faculty in 2017.